Styx - Pieces of Eight - SACD

Styx - Pieces of Eight - SACD

Product no.: AFZ265

Usually 7-21 Days

Styx - Pieces of Eight - SACD
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Audio Fidelity - AFZ265 - Hybrid Stereo  SACD - 

Mastered by SKevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Numbered Limited Edition - Plays on All CD Players 

Hybrid SACD contains a "Red Book" Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

"… a feisty, straightforward brand of album rock, shows Styx at the peak of their powers!"

The eighth studio album by Styx, 1978's Pieces of Eight peaked at #6 on the Billboard album chart. The album managed to achieve triple-platinum certification, thanks to the three hit singles "Sing for the Day", "Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)" and "Renegade". The band members, Dennis DeYoung (keyboards, vocals), Tommy Shaw (guitar, mandolin, vocals), James "JY" Young (guitar, vocals), Chuck Panozzo (bass) and John Panozzo (drums), produced and recorded the album.

Many critics consider Pieces of Eight a concept album as well as the last Styx album with the significant progressive rock leanings that characterized their previous albums. The theme of the album was about "not giving up your dreams just for the pursuit of money and material possessions" according to Dennis DeYoung.

Pieces of Eight features the width of Styx talents and maintains its quality while exploring a lot of different musical styles, all wrapped up in a prog rock veneer with impressive instrumental prowess, outstanding harmonies, and catchy songwriting.

Two of the album's ten tracks are instrumentals: the DeYoung synthesizer showcase "The Message" and Tommy Shaw's closing "Aku-Aku."

The album's cover was done by Hipgnosis.

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

1. Great White Hope
2. I'm O.K.
3. Sing For the Day
4. The Message
5. Lords of The Ring
6. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
7. Queen of Spades
8. Renegade
9. Pieces of Eight
10. Aku-Aku

Styx Pieces of Eight Numbered Limited Edition Hybrid Stereo SACD

You've never heard your favorite music sound this good!  
The clarity is truly exceptional.

Engineers Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray use their 30 years of expertise to create the best sounding versions of the music ever released.

Our Vinyl series of 180g Virgin Vinyl 12” LPs features some of the classic recorded concert performances of all time.  These are both single or double-gatefold album packages that include all the details and imagery of the recorded performance.  The titles in the series include albums at both 33 1/3 rpm as well as some soon to be released at 45 rpm for the peak in quality of sound.  This unique set of recordings truly lives up to our name by offering the ultimate sound experience, absolute Audio Fidelity.

Audio Fidelity, it’s as simple as 1-2-3……our three basic principles

To be associated with classic artists and entertainers;
To keep the integrity of the artist’s original vision intact; and,
To reproduce vintage recordings with the finest quality sound based on our supreme standards of quality control.

Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: CD / SACD / XRCD, ROCK & POPULAR