Band - Music From The Big Pink - 180g LP

Band - Music From The Big Pink - 180g LP

Product no.: MFSL1-346

In stock

Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard

Mobile Fidelity - MFSL 1-346 - 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl - 821797134613

Numbered Limited Edition -  Pressed at RTI 

AAA 100%  Analogue - Mastered by Kreig Wunderlich from the Original Master  tape

Half-Speed Mastered on the Mobile Fidelity The Gain 2 Ultra Analog System

This is a "must have" album on the "must have" version.  - Michael Fremer,  Music 10/10, Sound 10/10! 

Recorded in 1968, The Band’s Music From Big Pink stems from the same locale—a pink farmhouse in upstate Woodstock, New York—as the Basement Tapes and is just as rustic, timeless, and mysterious as Dylan’s celebrated work.

A debut for the ages, the album features two songs co-written with Dylan—“This Wheel’s on Fire,” “Tears of Rage”—as well as what’s universally recognized as the definitive version of Dylan’s “I Shall Be Released.” More famously, it also includes “The Weight,” a standard covered by everyone from the Grateful Dead to Weezer to Aretha Franklin. But the power of this set doesn’t lie in one song but the entire album.

A groundbreaking statement, Music From Big Pink lays bare the magnetism of the American South, Appalachian traditions, and country-rock innovations. That guitarist Robbie Robertson, Garth Hudson, bassist Rick Danko, drummer/vocalist Levon Helm, and organist Richard Manuel are all household names only adds to the proof of this must-have record’s everlasting appeal. This is the majesty of what Greil Marcus called “the old, weird America.”

Half-speed mastered from the original master tapes and pressed at RTI, Mobile Fidelity's analog version practically gives you a spot on the floor at Big Pink as the sessions went down. Curl up, close your eyes, and listen as the music's sublimely organic sounds appear with full-range dynamics, life-size imaging, and tremendous soundstaging. This is one of the reasons why you have a turntable. Prepare for your system, and your ears, to glow. 

"So finally, after all of these years we have the penultimate Music From Big Pink. It's got the bass, it's got the proper top end, it has the mids correct and it gives you all of the space and low level detail missing from every other edition, though the original Capitol isn't bad in that department.

This is a "must have" album on the "must have" version. Mobile Fidelity has had its share of hits and misses. This is one of the hits. Don't miss it." - Michael Fremer,  Music 10/10, Sound 10/10! 

 buys you a Super Big Gulp of extra creamy analog. Levon Helm’s drumming, while somewhat subdued, is rich with texture in a way that few digital recordings manage to capture. Multipart harmonies dominate and come alive across the soundstage, bringing us back to a time in recording history before massive overdubs became the norm. All of which explains why this record stands the test of time, earning the 34th spot on Rolling Stone’s greatest albums of all-time list." - Jeff Dorgay, TONEAudio Magazine, 

• Numbered, Limited Edition 33rpm Edition
• Half-Speed Production and Mastering by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
• Specially Plated and Pressed on 180 grams of High Definition Vinyl
• Pressed at RTI
• Special Static Free - Dust Free Inner Sleeve
• Heavy Duty Protective Packaging
• Mastered from the Original Master Tapes

Painting Cover – Bob Dylan

Garth Hudson

Levon Helm

Richard Manuel

Rick Danko

Jaime Robbie Robertson
Producer – John Simon

Side One:

1. Tears of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
3. In A Station
4. Caledonia Mission
5. The Weight
Side Two:
6. We Can Talk
7. Long Black Veil
8. Chest Fever
9. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel's On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released

Band - Music From The Big Pink - 180g LP

Image result for mofi mobile fidelity sound lab


GAIN 2 Ultra Analog™ is a proprietary cutting system built and designed by legendary design genius Tim De Paravicini, with consultation from one of MFSL’s founding fathers – Stan Ricker, an audio engineer responsible for many of MFSL’s most heralded past releases.

The GAIN 2 Ultra Analog™ system is comprised of a Studer™ tape machine with customized reproduction electronics* and handcrafted cutting amps that drive an Ortofon cutting head on a restored Neumann VMS-70 lathe. (*It is worth noting that independent studies have confirmed that the GAIN 2 Ultra Analog™ system can unveil sonic information all the way up to 122kHz!)

First and foremost, we only utilize first generation original master recordings as source material for our releases. We then play back master tapes at half speed enabling the GAIN 2 Ultra Analog™ system to fully extract the master’s sonic information. Our lacquers are then plated in a specialized process that protects transients in the musical signal. (Due to this process, there may be occasional pops or ticks inherent in initial play back, but as the disc is played more, a high quality stylus will actually polish the grooves and improve the sound). We further ensure optimum sound quality by strictly limiting the number of pressings printed for each release. These limited editions, in addition to being collectors’ items, ensure that the quality of the last pressing matches the quality of the first.

As you can imagine, all these efforts involve a tremendous amount of time, technology, cost and effort. The introduction of GAIN 2 Ultra Analog™ maintains Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab’s position as the world’s leading audiophile record label, where a passion for music with extraordinary sound quality matters most.

Record Technology is a world class record pressing plant located in Camarillo, California. We have been operating since 1974, pressing for most audiophile record labels and for many quality minded independent and major record labels from around the world.


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: ROCK & POPULAR, Home page