Diana Krall - Glad Rag Doll - 180g 2LP

Product no.: 126941

In stock

Diana Krall - Glad Rag Doll - 180g 2LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

Diana Krall's extraordinary new album, Glad Rag Doll is an exhilarating and adventurous exploration of new sounds, new instrumentation and new musicians. It stars a singer and piano player, filled with mischief, humour and a renewed sense of tenderness 

The record reveals itself at that remarkable vanishing point in time where all music; swinging, rocking and taboo, collide with songs of longing, solace and regret. All are made new again in a vaudeville of Krall's own imagining. It is at once a major departure and a natural progression for the gifted musician. Diana simply calls the album, "a song and dance record."

Working for the first time with renowned producer recored on Analogue Tape by T Bone Burnett and engineer Mike Piersante, Krall revels in a fresh sonic playground captured in the vivid grain and deep resonant focus of analog tape. Burnett has assembled a distinguished cast of remarkable men to complement Krall's piano contribution at an 1890s Steinway upright. From the hushed to the howling, Marc Ribot's poised and sympathetic solo guitar accompaniment on the title track contrasts beautifully with a range of surprising sounds and colors.

As ever with a Diana Krall record, her distinctive feel and unique sense of time is crucial. She has established a new and exciting rhythmic rapport with drummer Jay Bellerose and bassist Dennis Crouch that has let loose some of her most joyous piano playing heard on record to date. Among the new elements brought into the spontaneous arrangement process are the mysterious, sometimes comedic commentaries coming from the keyboards of Keefus Green.

"It rocks. It swings. It shuffles. It's sexy, sly, intimate, and exhilarating." - Associated Press

"Enthralling... I'd call it her nimble, witty, change-of-pace record." - Entertainment Weekly

"Krall's work on the piano has perhaps never sounded so rock-n-roll." - American Songwriter

"Krall is masterful in her interpretations" - JazzTimes

• Mastered by Gavin Lurssen at Lurssen Mastering

Diana Krall, vocals, piano
Marc Ribot, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 6 string bass, banjo
T Bone Burnett, guitars
Howard Coward, ukulele, mandola, tenor guitar, harmony vocals
Jay Bellerose, drums
Dennis Crouch, bass
Bryan Sutton, guitars
Colin Linden, guitars, dobro
Keefus Green, keyboards, mellotron

1. We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye (Woods)
2. There Ain't No Sweet Man That's Worth the Saltof  My Tears (Fisher)
3. Just Like a Butterfly That's Caught in the Rain (Dixon/Woods)
4. You Know I Know Ev'rything's Made for Love (Sherman/Tobias/Johnson)
1. Glad Rag Doll (Ager/Dougherty/Yellen)
2. I'm A Little Mixed Up (James/Johnson)
3. Prairie Lullaby (Hill)
1. Here Lies Love (Rainger/Robin)
2. I Used to Love You But It's All Over Now (von Tilzer/Brown)
3. Let it Rain (Kendis/Dyson)
1. Lonely Avenue (Pomus)
2. Wide River to Cross (Miller/Miller)
3. When the Curtain Comes Down (Hoefle/Lewis/Sherman)

Diana Krall - Glad Rag Doll - 180g 2LP


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: JAZZ