Eva Cassidy - Vinyl Collection - 180g 5LP + EP Box Set

Product no.: 249625

Eva Cassidy - Vinyl Collection - 180g 5LP + EP Box Set
Price includes VAT, plus delivery
Available delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, Heavy Item

3000 Numbered Limited Edition  - 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl 

Audiophile Remaster -  Limited Edition - Pressed in Germany 

Eva Cassidy Vinyl Collection on Numbered Limited Edition 180g 5LP + 12" Single Box Set

Featuring the Long Out of Print Songbird Plus 4 More Acclaimed Albums Available on Vinyl for the Very First Time!

Comes Complete with an Exclusive Bonus 12" Single & 12" x 12" Reproduction of a Painting by Eva

Hand-Numbered Limited Edition of 3000

Blix Street Records proudly presents Eva Cassidy's Vinyl Collection, a hand-numbered limited edition 180g 5LP box set which brings together her definitive release Songbird (1998), unavailable on the format for years, and equally as compelling offerings, Time After Time (2000), Imagine (2000), American Tune (2003) and Somewhere (2008), which will be available on vinyl for the very first time. The set is rounded out by the exclusive bonus 12" single featuring "What A Wonderful World" (2004 Version) and "You Take My Breath Away (2012 Version) and comes housed in a lift off lid box with a 12" x 12" reproduction of a painting by Eva.

Definitions,” wrote Los Angeles Times critic Don Heckman, “become virtually useless to describe the singing of Eva Cassidy.” The career of the gifted and acclaimed vocalist has likewise defied description and easy analysis. Her eclectic tastes – everything from folk and country to jazz, standards, blues, rock and pop - made Eva hard to pigeon-hole, and her lack of exposure beyond her native Washington, D.C. kept her profile low during her lifetime.

Following her untimely 1996 death from melanoma at the age of 33, Blix Street arranged for the national release of Songbird in April 1998, a collection compiled by label founder Bill Straw. Songbird included Cassidy’s re-defining version of “Over the Rainbow” with “Fields of Gold” and other tracks from her two existing albums, Live at Blues Alley and Eva By Heart. The formative compilation hit No. 1 in the U.K. where it has been certified 6x Platinum.

With her popularity at an all-time high, the label issued Time After Time in 2000, a collection of 12 previously unreleased recordings including 8 studio cuts and 4 live tracks. Home to Cassidy's transformative covers of Paul Simon's "Kathy's Song," Bill Withers's "Ain't No Sunshine," the Box Tops' "The Letter,"  Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time" and the traditional gospel number "Way Beyond the Blue."

Selected from the archives of the singer’s limited recording output, the 2000 compilation Imagine (her second U.K. No. 1) contains a mixture of previously unreleased studio recordings and live performances at clubs in her native Washington, DC area. Featuring stellar interpretations of Paul Anka's “It Doesn’t Matter Anymore,” Gordon Lightfoot's folk classic "Early Morning Rain," the traditional "Danny Boy," Sandy Denny’s “Who Knows Where the Time Goes” and the jazz standard “You’ve Changed.” Blix Street president Bill Straw in the album's liner notes: "Imagine continues our tradition of showcasing Eva's genius for mixing and matching musical genres, with an unerring sense of style that literally transcends their differences." 

As with her two previous albums, Time After Time and Imagine, the songs on 2003's American Tune come from a variety of sources. "The Water is Wide" and "American Tune" were taped at Pearl's, a storefront restaurant in Annapolis where Eva sometimes performed solo. "It Don't Mean a Thing" was taped at a higher-profile venue, the King of France Tavern at the Maryland Inn, also in Annapolis. The rest of the songs were recorded at Chris Biondo's studio, either in Rockville or in Glenn Dale, Maryland. There is no doubt these informal recordings capture Eva's magic in its purest form - her remarkable voice never fails to send a shiver down the spine or bring a tear to the eye.

Somewhere is a posthumous 2008 collection of 12 previously unreleased songs recorded by Cassidy at various venues and studios between 1987 and 1996. Somewhere includes the first two songs co-written by Cassidy that have come to light, “Early One Morning” and the album’s title song. The expressive vocalist displays her definition-defying range, tackling and triumphing over material made famous by Dolly Parton, Aretha Franklin, Willie Nelson, Bobby “Blue” Bland and others. According to Straw, “Somewhere, certainly the most diverse Eva Cassidy album to date, is a vocal tour de force that could become the hallmark for one singer covering this breadth and depth of material on one album.”

• Hand-numbered limited edition 180g 5LP box set
• Only 3000 copies
• Exclusive bonus 12" vinyl single
• 12" x 12" reproduction of a painting by Eva
• Pressed at Optimal Media
• Lift off lid box

• First time on vinyl (4 albums)

LP 1 - Side 1:
1. Fields Of Gold
2. Wade In The Water
3. Autumn Leaves 
4. Wayfaring Stranger
5. Songbird
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. People Get Ready
2. I Know You By Heart
3. Time Is A Healer
4. Oh, Had I A Golden Thread
5. Over The Rainbow

Time After Time
LP 2 - Side 1:
1. Kathy's Song
2. Ain't No Sunshine
3. The Letter
4. At Last
5. Time After Time
6. I Wandered By A Brookside
LP 2 - Side 2:
1. Penny To My Name
2. I Wish I Was A Single Girl Again
3. Easy Street Dream
4. Anniversary Song
5. Woodstock
6. Way Beyond The Blue

LP 3 - Side 1:
1. It Doesn't Matter Anymore
2. Fever
3. Who Knows Where The Time Goes
4. Tennessee Waltz
5. Imagine
LP 3 - Side 2:
1. Early Morning Rain
2. You've Changed
3. Still Not Ready
4. I Can Only Be Me
5. Danny Boy

American Tune
LP 4 - Side 1:
1. Drowning In The Sea Of Love
2. Dark Eyed Molly
3. The Water Is Wide
4. Hallelujah I Love Him So
5. God Bless The Child
LP 4 - Side 2:
1. True Colors
2. It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
3. American Tune
4. Yesterday
5. You Take My Breath Away

LP 5 - Side 1:
1. Coat Of Many Colors
2. My Love Is Like A Red, Red Rose
3. Ain't Doin' Too Bad
4. Chain Of Fools
5. Won't Be Long
6. Walkin' After Midnight
LP 5 - Side 2:
1. A Bold Young Farmer
2. Early One Morning
3. If I Give My Heart
4. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
5. Summertime
6. Somewhere

12" Single:
Side One:
1. What A Wonderful World
Side Two:
1. You Take My Breath Away


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: ROCK & POPULAR