Neil Young - Live At The Cellar Door - 180g LP

Product no.: 535854

In stock

Neil Young - Live At The Cellar Door - 180g LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

AAA 100% Analogue This LP was Remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head

Mastered by Bernie Grundman - Pressed at Pallas in Germany 

My reaction to this record is that it gives you more "essence of Neil" than any of his other records. It better explains his gutsy artistic greatness. I wonder why he waited so long to give it to us? It could be that this was a difficult time in Neil's life—at least judging by the downcast songs culled from the sets. Were there any that were more upbeat omitted all these years later to make the point? Maybe he waited until it could be perfectly mastered, pressed and gatefold-presented as it is here.- Sound 10/10 Stereophile Michael Fremer

Live At The Cellar Door, an album of unreleased live performances from late 1970, this December. The album is the latest in Young's ongoing Archives Performance Series, and it collects recordings made during the Canadian singer songwriter's intimate six-show solo stand at The Cellar Door, a venue in Washington D.C., between November 30th and December 2nd, 1970.

Since the gigs were only a few months after his timeless third solo album, After The Gold Rush, was released and five of the thirteen tracks here are from that very record, including Only Love Can Break Your Heart and Don't Let It Bring You Down. Also featured, is Cinnamon Girl performed on piano rather than guitar, a handful of Buffalo Springfield songs, including Expecting To Fly and Old Man which wasn't released until two years later on 1972's Harvest album. 2013.

Neil Young will release Live At The Cellar Door, the latest in his Archives Performance Series, on Reprise Records. The album collects recordings made during Young's intimate six-show solo stand at The Cellar Door in Washington D.C. between November 30th and December 2nd, 1970, a few months after Reprise released his classic third solo album After The Gold Rush in August.

The album, which features Young performing on acoustic guitar and piano, includes tracks that are interesting for several reasons, such as stunning live versions of songs that appeared on After The Gold Rush ("Tell Me Why," "Only Love Can Break Your Heart," "Birds," "Don't Let It Bring You Down" and the title track) and solo performances of the Buffalo Springfield songs "Expecting To Fly" (from their 1967 second album Buffalo Springfield Again), "I Am A Child" (from their third and final album Last Time Around and Young's 1977 Decade compilation), and "Flying On The Ground Is Wrong," from their 1966 self-titled debut.

In addition, Live At The Cellar Door features early, raw performances of songs that wouldn't appear until subsequent Young albums, including the rarity "Bad Fog Of Loneliness" (which appears on Live At Massey Hall '71 - released in 2007-but was previously unreleased until the studio band version was included on Archives Vol. 1 1963-1972), "Old Man" (released two years later on 1972's Harvest album), a rare solo performance of "Cinnamon Girl" on piano (the full band version appears on Young's 1969 second solo album Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere), and "Down By The River," also from Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere.

Live At The Cellar Door was recorded by Henry Lewy and produced by Young.

1. Tell Me Why
2. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
3. After the Gold Rush
4. Expecting To Fly
5. Bad Fog of Loneliness
6. Old Man
7. Birds
8. Don't Let It Bring You Down
9. See the Sky About to Rain
10. Cinnamon Girl
11. I Am A Child
12. Down By the River
13. Flying On The Ground Is Wrong


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: ROCK & POPULAR