Prince - Emancipation - 6LP Box Set

Prince - Emancipation - 6LP Box Set

Product no.: 80617

In stock

Prince - Emancipation - 6LP Box Set
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

Emancipation—Prince’s first release off Warner Bros. in a one-off agreement between NPG Records and EMI came in November of 1996 just 4 months after Chaos And Disorder—was as expansive an album as anything he’d ever release. A triple album constituting exactly three hours of music, Emancipation found Prince celebrating the release of music solely on his terms. "This is my most important record," he proclaimed to the Minneapolis Star Tribune upon its release. "I’m free, and my music is free." Much like Paisley Park, the recording complex in which Prince created Emancipation, the album represents the incredible variety of his influences and moods. Romance and family are key themes ("Somebody’s Somebody," "The Holy River," "The Love We Make"), reflecting his recent marriage to back-up dancer and muse Mayte Garcia that year as well as the impending arrival of their child. (Tragically, their son suffered from a rare disease at birth and passed away weeks before the album’s release.) Elsewhere, Prince reflects on technology (“My Computer”) and sex (“In This Bed <0> Scream”), and offers new, upbeat grooves (“Face Down,” “Jam Of The Year”) as well as four unique covers (Bonnie Raitt’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me,” the Philly soul classics “Betcha By Golly Wow” and “La, La, La Means I Love U,” Joan Osborne’s then-recent rock hit “One Of Us”).

First time on vinyl! 6 purple LPs in slipcase. Each LP has printed jacket and printed interior sleeve.


LP 1:
Side A:
1. Jam of The Year
2. Right Back Here In My Arms
3. Somebody's Somebody
Side B:
4. Get Yo Groove On
5. Courtin' Time
6. Betcha By Golly Wow!

LP 2:
Side A:
1. We Gets Up
2. White Mansion
3. Damned If Eye Do
Side B:
4. I Can't Make U Love Me
5. Mr. Happy
6. In This Bed Eye Scream

LP 3:
Side A:
1. Sex In the Summer
2. One Kiss At A Time
3. Soul Sanctuary
Side B:
4. Emale
5. Curious Child
6. Dreamin' About U

LP 4:
Side A:
1. Joint 2 Joint
2. The Holy River
3. Let's Have A Baby
Side B:
4. Saviour
5. The Plan
6. Friend, Lover, Sister, Mother/Wife

LP 5:
Side A:
1. Slave
2. New World
3. The Human Body
Side B:
4. Face Down
5. La, La, La Means I Love You
6. Style

LP 6:
Side A:
1. Sleep Around
2. Da, Da, Da
3. My Computer
Side B:
4. One of Us
5. The Love We Make
6. Emancipation

Browse this category: ROCK & POPULAR