Maria Callas, von Karajan - Donizetti: Lucia Di Lammermoor - Berlin 1955 - 3LP

Product no.: AAPP11L
Maria Callas, von Karajan - Donizetti: Lucia Di Lammermoor - Berlin 1955 - 3LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Available delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

First Time on vinyl - Remastered from the original analog tapes

 lacquer cuts by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Limited to 5,000 hand-numbered copies

Includes 40-page booklet and a facsimile of the performance program , Celebrating the 100th birthday of acclaimed soprano Maria Callas!

Frédéric D'Oria-Nicolas, founder and director of The Lost Recordings record label, explains how this exceptional 3LP release of Lucia di Lammermoor, recorded September 29, 1955, came to be. Recorded at the Städtische Oper Berlin,  featured Di Stefano, Panerai, Karajan and the renowned and influential soprano Maria Callas.

"In May 2022, while we were working in the archives of the Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (RBB), we came across the original tapes of this mythical recording made in 1955. It was certainly one of the most significant testimonies of the lyric art of the twentieth century.

"Despite the fact that the first forty seconds of the first tape had deteriorated, when we listened to the minutes of the recording that followed, we heard timbres with a richness and a dynamic that bore no comparison to other recordings that have been known until the present. It took four months of painstaking work to restore all the brilliance to the orchestra, to the Scala choir and to the legendary voices of this poignant slice of history and of music.

Tom Volf, president of the Maria Callas Foundation, says there's a personal connection with Callas's Lucia, calling it a "wonderful example of what it felt like to hear Callas on stage, in a performance that became legendary."

"Maria Callas said she "hated" recording for commercial (studio) releases and used to say that only live performances could convey her artistry in its full spectrum. In the later years of her life, she would collect her own pirate recordings and would often listen to performances such as this one. The best account of that comes from Robert Sutherland, her pianist during the last tour of concerts in 1973-74, who recalled the evenings spent at Callas's apartment at Avenue Georges Mandel:

"We listened to a pirate recording of the Berlin Lucia. She remembered how Karajan angered the soloists by repeating the sextet without warning them. As we listened to the encore she said ‘You can hear how angry I was! And I still had the mad scene to sing! I told him afterwards at dinner that he dare not do that again on me or there would be trouble!' We listened to the mad scene, an amazing performance. She was visibly impressed. ‘I don't now how I did it. I just don't know how - and to think that I wept after that performance because I thought I was so far off my aim.' I had difficulty in expressing my reaction. Such a combination of controlled technical brilliance and artistic imagination was astounding. I attempted it with, ‘It's marvellous singing...' ‘Marvellous? Marvellous?' She pulled herself up in the sofa. ‘It isn't marvellous, it's bloody miraculous!'"

"Back at that time, pirate recordings circulated among avid admirers in the form of homemade LP's, such as those released by the BJR label which is probably the one that Callas was listening to that night with Robert Sutherland. Today, however, we have to commend Frédéric D'Oria-Nicolas and The Lost Recordings for retrieving the original tapes in Berlin and meticulously restoring them to a quality of sound which surpasses any previous release, thus providing us with the most authentic rendition of that historical performance. Therefore it was only natural for the Callas Foundation to be associated with this publication, providing texts and images to illustrate the booklet and honour the memory of Maria Callas through this magnificent edition celebrating her 100th anniversary."

RIAS Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Herbert von Karajan, conductor
Recorded on Sept. 29, 1955 at Städtische Oper Berlin, Germany

Maria Callas, Lucia
Giuseppe Di Stefano, Edgardo
Rolando Panerai, Enrico
Nicola Zaccaria, Raimondo
Giuseppe Zampieri, Arturo
Luisa Villa, Alisa
Mario Carlin, Normanno
Coro del Teatro alla Scala, Milan

Disc 1 - Donizetti: Lucia Di Lammermoor: Act I
1. Prelude
2. Percorrete... Percorriamo le spiagge vicine
3. Tu sei turbato!... E n’ho ben d’onde
4. Cruda, funesta smania
5. Il tuo dubbio è omai certezza... Come vinti da stanchezza
6. La pietade in suo favore
7. Ancor non giunse?
8. Regnava nel silenzio alta la notte e bruna
9. Quando rapito in estasi
10. Egli s'avanza... Lucia, perdona se ad ora inusitata
11. Sulla tomba che rinserra il tradito genitore
12. Qui di sposa eterna fede... Ah, soltanto il nostro foco
13. Ah, talor del tuo pensiero venga un foglio messaggero
14. Verranno a te sull'aure i miei sospiri ardenti
Disc 2 - Donizetti: Lucia Di Lammermoor: Act II
15. Lucia fra poco a te verrà... Tremante l’aspetto
16. Appressati, Lucia... Il pallor funesto, orrendo
17. Soffriva nel pianto... Un folle t’accese
18. Che fia?... Suonar di giubilo
19. Se tradirmi tu potrai... Tu che vedi il pianto mio
20. Per te d’immenso giubilo... Per poco fra le tenebre sparì lavos tra stella
21. Dov e Lucia?... Qui giungere or la vedrem
22. Piange la madre estinta
23. Chi mi frena in tal momento
24. T’allontana, sciagurato... Rispettate in me di Dio
25. Sconsigliato! In queste porte chi ti guida?
26. Esci, fuggi, il furor che mi accende
Disc 3 - Donizetti: Lucia Di Lammermoor: Act III
27. D’immenso giubilo s’innalzi un grido
28. Dalle stanze ove Lucia tratta avea col suo consorte
29. Oh! Qual funesto avvenimento!
30. Il dolce suono mi colpì di sua voce!...
31. Ardon gli incensi
32. Spargi d'amaro pianto
33. Tombe degli avi miei
34. Fra poco a me ricovero darà negletto avello
35. Oh, meschina! Oh, fato orrendo!
36. Tu che a Dio spiegasti l’ali


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: CLASSICAL