Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Cole Porter Songbook - 180g 3LP Box Set Mono

Product no.: AS00007

Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Cole Porter Songbook - 180g 3LP Box Set Mono
Price includes VAT, plus delivery
Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item


AAA 100% Analogue This LP was Remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head

Analog Spark - AS00007 - Mastered by Ryan K Smith at Sterling Sound

180 Gram Virgin Vinyl - Pressed at RTI - Limited Edition - Verve MG 4-4001-2 

100 Recommended All-Analog ressues Worth Owning - Michael Fremer Analogplanet 2019

60th Anniversary 180g Vinyl 3LP Box Set
Mastered From Original Mono Tapes By Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound - Plated & Pressed At RTI

Sonically this was never a great sounding production. While it was recorded at Capitol, for some reason it lacks the depth and warmth of Sinatra and Nat "King" Cole records of that era.  Ella's voice is certainly cleanly presented but it's somewhat bright and occasionally harsh. Perhaps it was the wrong microphone?  The original pressing is of course more "tubey" because the entire chain was so.  By comparison this reissue sounds far more transparent, with blacker backgrounds and a great deal more detail but it also can sound hard and bright if you turn it up too high.  The original no matter what you do to it will sound warm and on one level easier on the ears, but it's also clogged and "colored" in an old-fashioned way.  I'm not sure if Ryan K. Smith just ran the tape flat or if he applied some EQ. in my system at least, a bit of high frequency shaving might have made for a more pleasant sound. Still, given the choice between the original and the reissue, it's like an Iranian revolution: a hundred veils are lifted! For Ella fans, this is easy to recommend. Ella singing Cole Porter will put a spring in your step! Music 11/10 Sound 8/10 Michael Fremer Analogueplanet

Mastered From Original Mono Tapes By Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound!

60th Anniversary audiophile reissue of Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Cole Porter Songbook, the legendary recording which launched Norman Granz's Verve Records label. The vinyl box set includes three 180g vinyl LPs cut from original mono tapes by Ryan Smith at sterling Sound, and pressed and plated at RTI.

The year 1956 documented a great chapter in the history of jazz music: Norman Granz founded his third label, VERVE, managed to win Ella Fitzgerald (who has deserted DECCA) and initiated the Songbook Series which not only attracted a totally new listening public, but also established Ella’s reputation as the First Lady of Song. 

The Cole Porter Songbook marked the glorious beginning of a series which finally expanded to seven titles. The recording’s success was practically a foregone conclusion. Porter had written hundreds of wonderful songs from which Granz made an initial choice of 50 songs before Ella and the bandleader and arranger Buddy Bregman finally decided upon what was, for them, the crème de la crème. The result was a list of 32 songs, all of which make easy listening not only thanks to their melodic originality and harmonic genius but particularly to the wonderful amalgamation of the text - which Porter always wrote himself - and the music. Each and every one is a classic in its own right. Bregman’s arrangements never seek to disguise the fact that all these songs originated on Broadway, and Ella proves her greatness by finding something new in such old favorites as Night and Day, I Love Paris and I Get A Kick Out Of You. And as if that wasn’t enough, Bregman’s orchestra sounds absolutely splendid. 

• Mastered By Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound

1. All Trough The Night
2. Anything Goes
3. Begin The Beguine
4. I Get A Kick Out Of You
5. I Love Paris
6. Just One Of Those Things
7. Let’s Do It
8. Love For Sale
9. Night And Day
10. Ridin’ High
11. Too Darn Hot
12. What Is This Thing Called Love
13. Why Can’t You Behave
14. You’re The Top
15. In The Still Of The Night
16. Miss Otis Regrets
17. Do I Love You
18. Always True To You In My Fashion
19. Ev'ry Time We Say Good-Bye
20. All Of You
21. Get Out Of Town
22. I Am In Love
23. From This Moment On
24. You Do Something To Me
25. Easy To Love
26. It's All Right With Me
27. It's Delovely
28. Ace In The Hole
29. So In Love
30. I've Got You Under My Skin
31. I Concentrate On You
32. Don't Fence Me In

Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Cole Porter Songbook - 180g 3LP Box Set Mono

https://store.acousticsounds.com/images/FormatIcons/180gram.jpg RTI 180 HQ Vinyl
Record Technology is a world class record pressing plant located in Camarillo, California. We have been operating since 1974, pressing for most audiophile record labels and for many quality minded independent and major record labels from around the world.

Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: JAZZ, Home page