Gypsy - Jule Styne and Stephen Sondheim : Original Broadway Cast Recording - 180g LP

Product no.: AS00026

In stock

Gypsy - Jule Styne and Stephen Sondheim : Original Broadway Cast Recording - 180g LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

Analog Spark - AS00026 - Mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound

Pressed at RTI - Limited Edition - OS 2017 Columbia 

Reissued for the first time on vinyl since it's original release!

Cut from the original stereo tapes by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound

First stereo recording of Ethel Merman recorded at the legendary Columbia 30th Street Studios

Grammy award winner for Best Original Cast Show Album and widely considered the greatest American musical

With a percussive score by Jule Styne, and solidly crafted lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Gypsy stands out arguably as one of the two most perfect musicals ever created (the other one being Guys And Dolls). Over the years, it has been revived frequently, but Ethel Merman’s larger-than-life portrayal remains the standard by which all others have to measure up. This was the first stereo recording of Merman, produced by legendary Broadway cast recording producer Goddard Lieberson and recorded at Columbia 30th Street Studios.

This tribute to burlesque was a star vehicle for Ethel Merman. The score by Jule Styne and Stephen Sondheim includes the Merman standard "Everything's Coming Up Roses," and the song that is invariably used to introduce anything having to do with the strip tease, "Let Me Entertain You"...the show was considered the definitive Merman performance and the crowning achievement of her long career. (It marked her final appearance in a new Broadway musical, though she later appeared in revivals.) It is also considered one of the great American musicals of all time, balanced between the broad show business entertainment represented by composer Jule Styne and the modern, dark, psychological drama typical of Stephen Sondheim, who, as with his previous effort, West Side Story, was contributing only lyrics, though he would go on to write music and lyrics for a series of musicals from the 1960s on.

This is the first vinyl reissue of this album cut from the original stereo master tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound and pressed and plated at RTI. 180-gram vinyl housed in a Stoughton old style “tip-on” jacket.


Side A

1. Overture

2. Let Me Entertain You

3. Some People

4. Small World

5. Baby June and Her Newsboys

6. Mr. Goldstone, I Love You

7. Little Lamb

8. You'll Never Get Away From Me

9. Dainty June and Her Farmboys

Side B

1. If Momma Was Married

2. All I Need Is The Girl

3. Everything's Coming Up Roses

4. Together Wherever We Go

5. You Gotta Have a Gimmick

6. Let Me Entertain You

7. Rose's Turn

Gypsy - Jule Styne and Stephen Sondheim : Original Broadway Cast Recording - 180g LP


RTI HQ-180 Vinyl

Record Technology is a world class record pressing plant located in Camarillo, California. We have been operating since 1974, pressing for most audiophile record labels and for many quality minded independent and major record labels from around the world.


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: ROCK & POPULAR