Allison Pierce - Year Of The Rabbit - 180g LP

Product no.: AS00038

In stock

Allison Pierce - Year Of The Rabbit - 180g LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Available delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

Analog Spark - AS00038 - 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl - AAA 100% Analogue

The paint film was cut by Eric Boulanger at The Bakery and pressed at Memphis Pressing. 

TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Informal 

Clear & Precise Female Vocals On Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP!
Recorded In Analog Straight To Magnetic Tape!

The Absolute Sound Super Disc List   TAS Harry Pearson Super LP List

Debut solo release from Allison Pierce, best known as half of the successful sister duo The Pierces

Produced by renowned producer Ethan Johns
Allison Pierce is launching the second chapter of her distinguished career with her new album Year of the Rabbit, an eloquent straight-from-the-heart solo debut. The new album finds Pierce transformed after two decades of recording and performing with her sister Catherine as The Pierces.
The duo's five albums and constant tours brought them critical acclaim and a loyal fan base. But as the years passed, each longed to express herself unfettered by the other and in 2015, The Pierces called it quits, whereupon the sisters launched solo careers.
For Year of the Rabbit, Pierce enlisted producer and multi-instrumentalist Ethan John (Ryan Adams, Ray LaMontagne, Kings of Leon). The two of them made the album essentially by themselves at Hollywood recording mecca Sunset Sound, in much the same way Johns acted as producer and one-man studio band on LaMontagne's 2004 debut LP, Trouble. As always, Johns recorded in computer-free analog mode and the luminous results of this methodology serves to underscore the timelessness of the songs and performances.
The first single "Evidence" is presented in classic folk-rock style with a jangling 12-string electric guitar, cantering groove and sultry overdubbed harmonies that frame Pierce's contemporary retelling of the myth of the Original Sin. The lilting, piquant "Fool Him" explores the travails of would-be lovers who can't seem to get in sync, while "I Can See for Miles" ponders losing someone, longing for them and looking for them everywhere. Year of the Rabbit unfurls in distinct, insinuating increments, a product not just of the songs themselves but also Pierce's ability to fully inhabit them, subtly adapting her vocal inflections from song to song to accommodate the musical atmospheres.
1. Fool Him
2. Evidence
3. Follow You Down
4. Never Coming Back
5. Sea Of Love
6. Drink One For You
7. I Can See For Miles
8. To The Grave
9. It Is Well With My Soul
10. A Kiss Before You Go
11. Bed Of Nails
12. Peace Like A River
Allison Pierce - Year Of The Rabbit - 180g LP
Browse these categories as well: ROCK & POPULAR, Home page