Ben Harper - Pleasure And Pain - 180g LP

Product no.: CR5818RM

Usually 7-21 Days

Ben Harper - Pleasure And Pain - 180g LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard

Cardas CR 5818RM -   180 Gram Virgin Vinyl - AAA 100% Analogue

Mastered by Bernie Grundman - Pressed at RTI - Audiophile Remaster

AAA 100% Analogue This LP was Remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only, from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head
My big announcement has to do with the newly-remastered version of Ben Harper's 1992 album Pleasure and Pain from Cardas Audio. I've been listening to an LP version of this release for the last few weeks, and the sound quality is simply incredible. Like the Hamza El Din LP I mentioned yesterday, this George Cardas-produced disc is one of the most lifelike recordings I've heard in a long time. The overall sound quality is direct, natural and intimate. I can't think of a single piece of music in my collection that reproduces the acoustic guitar more vividly and accurately - Vinyl review
Long Out of Print Debut Originally Recorded by George Cardas!
Now Remastered from the Analog Masters by Bernie Grundman! 
Recorded with musician Tom Freund, Pleasure and Pain was Ben Harper's first release before signing to Virgin Records. The legendary 11-song set, long out of print, has now been newly remastered by Bernie Grundman from the analog masters at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Hollywood, California and is pressed on audiophile 180g vinyl!
Pleasure And Pain was originally recorded on March 15, 1992, by George Cardas, of Cardas Audio, using a Studer A-80 tape deck. George used a pair of Omni differential microphones that he custom built and fed the sound directly to the Studer tape deck with nothing else in the signal path, not even a preamp. It is about the most direct and natural recording method there is. 
It's incredibly fortunate that George Cardas was able to capture this yet-to-be-huge star with this simple, raw first recording with no slick overproduction. Now back in print on a better than ever sounding audiophile pressing that matches its one-of-a-kind recording process! 

George Cardas: "I recorded Ben on March 15, 1992 - I was setup to record another performer (Johnny Kallas) who I had been working with for the previous month. Johnny called and said he had a sore throat and couldn't make it so we were getting ready to go home for the night when the phone rang - it was Ben. He said that a friend of his was over at his house, things were really working and he wanted to come over. I don't think at the time he was planning on a recording session. About 15 minutes later Ben and Tom came by. They were quite excited about how well things were going so I sat them down in front of a pair of microphones and they began to play.

"We went directly from a pair of custom built microphones into a Studer A-80. There was nothing in the signal path but the two microphones 6 feet of Cardas cable and the Studer not even a preamp other than the single stage in the microphones themselves. This was about as direct a setup as I have ever seen. The recording setup was omni's on 8 inch center placed in front and above Tom and Ben about 3 feet from Ben's chest. Ben and Tom began to play, sort of deciding what to play and going for it; all takes were one time only. It took just over 45 minutes to record the album - it is to this day one of the most magical musical moments, the kind you dream will happen but never do. It was obvious that this was the "real deal" so I made a record almost immediately. We did one run (of) the albums they were awesome so I told Ben to take on to LA and go shopping — he did and the rest is history. I hope some day Ben decides to release the original acoustic sessions."

Ben Harper Pleasure And Pain Track Listing:
1.  Whipping Boy
2.  Jesus On The Main Line
3.  Pay The Man
4.  Quarter Of A Man
5.  Mama's Got A Girlfriend Now
6.  Angel From Montgomery
7.  Click Yo' Heels
8.  You Should Have Come to Me
9.  Dust My Broom
10. Sweet Home Chicago
11. Pleasure And Pain 
Ben Harper - Pleasure And Pain - 180g LP

RTI HQ-180 Vinyl

Record Technology is a world class record pressing plant located in Camarillo, California. We have been operating since 1974, pressing for most audiophile record labels and for many quality minded independent and major record labels from around the world.

Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: ROCK & POPULAR