Milt Jackson - Plenty , Plenty Soul - 180g LP ( REPRESS )

Product no.: ORGM1089

Milt Jackson - Plenty , Plenty Soul - 180g LP ( REPRESS )
Price includes VAT, plus delivery
Available delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

AAA 100% Analogue This LP was Remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head

ORG - ORGM-1089 -  180 Gram Virgin Vinyl - 

Mastered By Bernie Grundman - Pressed at Pallas in Germany 

Atlantic 1269 - Limited Edition

Issued on Atlantic in 1957, Plenty, Plenty Soul is comprised of sophisticated soul/jazz material from two all-star NYC dates recorded in early-January of the same year led by Modern Jazz Quartet vibraphonist Milt 'Bags' Jackson who also contributes four of the album's seven numbers. 
With wonderful arrangements by Quincy Jones - the first three selections were recorded in a nine-piece configuration with Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone) at the forefront and additional support from Horace Silver (piano), Percy Heath (bass) and Art Blakey (drums) while the remaining four tracks were recorded in a sextet setting with Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone), Horace Silver (piano), Oscar Pettiford (bass) and Connie Kay (drums). 

"This is the sort of album which makes reviewing by the star system difficult. There should be some exceptional merit badge for this sort of things - five stars plus or too good to rate." - Ralph J. Gleason, Down Beat (1957)

This superior reissue combines together two sessions led by vibraphonist Milt Jackson. The first side of Plenty, Plenty Soul, which features a nine-piece group, is highlighted by the contributions of the exuberant altoist Cannonball Adderley, while the flip side has a sextet that is not hurt by the solos of tenor-saxophonist Lucky Thompson. 
With pianist Horace Silver helping out on both sessions, these all-star dates still sound fresh and enthusiastic decades later. 
Mastered from original analog tapes and pressed on 180 gram vinyl, this is THE essential pressing of this classic LP.
Milt Jackson (vibraphone)
Horace Silver (piano)
Percy Heath (bass)
Oscar Pettiford (bass)
Art Blakey (drums)
Connie Kay (drums)
Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone)
Ronnie Peters (alto saxophone)
Sahib Shihab (baritone saxophone)
Frank Foster (tenor saxophone)
Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone)
Jimmy Cleveland (trombone)
Joe Newman (trumpet)
Milt Jackson Plenty, Plenty Soul 


1.  Plenty, Plenty Soul

2.  Boogity Boogity
3.  Heartstrings
4.  Sermonette
5.  The Spirit-Feel
6.  Ignunt Oil
7.  Blues At Twilight




Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: JAZZ