West Side Story - Soundtrack : OST : (Original Broadway Cast) - 180g 2LP

Product no.: OS2001

In stock

West Side Story - Soundtrack : OST : (Original Broadway Cast) - 180g 2LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

AAA 100% Analogue This LP was Remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head

Analog Spark - 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl - Mastered By Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound

AAA 100% Analogue - Cut from the Original 3 Track Tapes

Pressed at Plated at RTI - Columbia OS 2001

The Absolute Sound Super Disc List  

TAS Harry Pearson Super LP List

100 Recommended All-Analog reissues Worth Owning - Michael Fremer Analogplanet 2019

Stereophile Magazine Record to Die For!

TAS Super LP List!  Special Merit: Film and Broadway Score 

Analogplanet's Best Reissues of the Decade! 2020

"The best known songs here include just about all of them. Even if you don't know the show you've probably heard "Something's Coming," "Maria," "Tonight," "America," "I Feel Pretty" and thawed ahead of its time "Gee Officer Krupke" which references marijuana and cross-dressing and indulges in some curse word fudging—all of which was absolutely outrageous in 1957, which is when the show opened." - Michael Fremer, analogplanet, 11/11 Music, 11/11 Sound

This 1957 Broadway musical retelling of Romeo and Juliet is hardly modern now, yet its story of young lovers starcrossed by ethnic (rather than family) rivalries is as timeless and as moving in 1992 as it was in Shakespeare's day. And the score is, to my mind, the best thing Bernstein ever did. www.stereophile.com

Much has been written about West Side Story, which began as a transmogrification of Romeo and Juliet as a feud between the Jews and Gentiles living on the East side in modern-day New York, only to morph into a confrontation between two street gangs, one American the other Puerto Rican, on the upper West side of the city. Initially, Leonard Bernstein, its composer, was to have written both music and lyrics, but Stephen Sondheim was eventually brought in to handle the latter.

With Arthur Laurents contributing the book, and Jerome Robbins devising the staging, the show opened to great acclaim on September 26, 1957 at the Winter Garden, where it played 732 performances, and was subsequently revived several times on Broadway and around the country. But it was the film version, made three years later with Natalie Wood as Maria, that ensured its popularity worldwide.

Though there are many recorded versions of the percussive score available, the original cast album, with its fresh, spontaneous performances, remains the standard by which all others are measured.

Cut From Original 3-Track Tapes By Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound
Stoughton old style tip-on gatefold jacket includes rare photos from original recording sessions

LP 1
Side A:
1. Prologue - West Side Story Ensemble
2. Jet Song - Mickey Calin
3. Something's Coming - Larry Kert
4. The Dance At the Gym -West Side Story Ensemble
5. Maria - Larry Kert
Side B:
1. Tonight - Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence
2. America - Chita Rivera, Marilyn Cooper
3. Cool - Mickey Calin
4. One Hand, One Heart - Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence

LP 2
Side C:
1. Tonight (Quintet & Chorus) - Chita Rivera, Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence, Mickey Calin, Ken Le Roy
2. The Rumble - West Side Story Ensemble
3. I Feel Pretty - Carol Lawrence, Marilyn Cooper, Elizabeth Taylor, Carmen Gutierrez
4. Somewhere (ballet) - Larry Kert, Reri Grist, Carol Lawrence
Side D:
1. Gee, Officer Krupke - Grover Dale, Eddie Roll, Hank Brunjes, David Winters, Tony Mordente
2. A Boy Like That / I Have A Love - Chita Rivera, Carol Lawrence
3. Finale - Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence


West Side Story - Soundtrack (Original Broadway Cast) - 180g 2LP

RTI HQ-180 Vinyl

Record Technology is a world class record pressing plant located in Camarillo, California. We have been operating since 1974, pressing for most audiophile record labels and for many quality minded independent and major record labels from around the world.

Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: ROCK & POPULAR, Home page