Gershwin - Porgy and Bess : Solisten, Lorin Maazel, Cleveland Orchestra/Chorus - 180g 3LP Box Set

Gershwin - Porgy and Bess : Solisten, Lorin Maazel, Cleveland Orchestra/Chorus - 180g 3LP Box Set

Product no.: SET609-11

In stock

Gershwin - Porgy and Bess : Solisten, Lorin Maazel, Cleveland Orchestra/Chorus - 180g 3LP Box Set
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

Speakers Corner / Decca SET 609-11  - 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl 

AAA 100% Analogue  - Limited Edition -  Audiophile Mastering - Pressed  at Pallas 

The Absolute Sound Super Disc List 2016  TAS Harry Pearson Super LP List

In 1935, George Gershwin, the pioneer of jazz, Porgy and Bess, was the stony path of his career from the badly paid songwriter to the triumphant composer of America. The unbroken success of this unique stage set, which can only be performed by black ensembles, surely lies in its stylistic mixture of serious music symphonic and jazz-pierced popular music. Just as exclusive as a production outside of the American continent is the present recording on record from 1975, which without exception all previously submitted cross-sections and soundtracks leave.

Masterful in interpretation and sound, Lorin Maazel's collaborators unfold the thrilling drama of milieus, with the famous evergreens such as "Summertime", "It is not necessarily so" and "Buzzard Song" finally in the coherent context of the fully-composed large form Shine. This 3-LP box is music for the lonely island, a production on which the Decca can be proud because of the undivided enthusiastic jubilation of the international trade press. We are also proud to be able to offer this milestone of American music history once again on vinyl.

Choir – The Cleveland Orchestra Children's Chorus, The Cleveland Orchestra Chorus
Composed By – Gershwin
Conductor – Lorin Maazel
Libretto By – DuBose Heyward
Liner Notes – Lehman Engel
Lyrics By – DuBose Heyward, Ira Gershwin
Orchestra – The Cleveland Orchestra
Performer – Arthur Thompson, Barbara Conrad , Barbara Hendricks, Florence Quivar, Francois Clemmons, Leona Mitchell, McHenry Boatwright, Willard White

Comes with a 30 page-booklet/libretto. 

Porgy And Bess
A1    Introduction And Act 1, Scene 1    
A2    Catfish Row    
A3    A Summer Evening (Start)    
A4    Jazzbo Brown Blues    
A5    Summertime    
A6    A Woman Is A Sometime Thing    
A7    Here Comes De Honey Man    
A8    They Pass By Singin''    
B1    Oh Little Stars (Conclusion Act 1)    
2. Act 1, Scene 2;
B2    Serena's Room    
B3    The Following Night    
B4    Gone, Gone, Gone    
B5    Overflow    
B6    My Man's Gone Now    
B7    Leavin' For The Promise' Lan'    
1. Act 2, Scene1;
C1    Catfish Row - A Month Later    
C2    It Takes A Long Pull To Get There    
C3    I Got Plenty O' Nuttin    
C4    Buzzard Song    
C5    Bess, You Is My Woman    
C6    Oh, I Can't Sit Down    
1. Act 2, Scene 2
D1    Kittiwah Island - Evening    
D2    The Same Day    
D3    I Aint Got No Shame    
D4    It Aint Necessarily So    
D5    What You Want Wid Bess?    
2. Act 2, Scene 3;
D6    Catfish Row-Before Dawn    
D7    A Week Later (Start)    
D8    Oh, Doctor Jesus    
D9    Strawberry Woman    
D10    Crab Man    
D11    I Loves You, Porgy    
E1    1 Act 2, Scene 3 (Conclusion)    
2. Act 2, Scene 4;
E2    Serena's Room-Dawn Of The Following Day    
E3    Oh, Hev'nly Father    
E4    Oh, De Lawd Shake The Heavens    
E5    Oh, Dere's Somebody Knockin' At De Do''    
E6    A Red Headed Woman    
3. Act 3, Scene1;
E7    Catfish Row-The Next Night    
E8    Clara, Clara    
E9    Death Of Crown    
1. Act 3. Scene 2;
F1    Catfish Row-The Next Afternoon    
F2    There's A Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon For New York    
2. Act 3, Scene 3;
F3    Catfish Row-A Week Later    
F4    Good Mornin'    
F5    Sistuh!    
F6    Oh, Bess    
F7    Oh Where Is My Bess    
F8    Ow Lawd, I'm On My Way



Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: CLASSICAL, JAZZ, Home page