Bjork - Post - 180g LP

Product no.: TPLP51

In stock

Bjork - Post - 180g LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

After Debut's success, the pressure was on Bjork to surpass that album's creative, tantalizing electronic pop. She more than delivered with 1995's Post; from the menacing, industrial-tinged opener, "Army of Me," it's clear that this album is not simply Debut redux. The songs' production and arrangements -- especially those of the epic, modern fairy tale "Isobel" -- all aim for, and accomplish, more. Post also features Debut producer Nellee Hooper, 808 State's Graham Massey, Howie B, and Tricky, who help Bjork incorporate a spectrum of electronic and orchestral styles into songs like "Hyperballad," which sounds like a love song penned by Aphex Twin.

Meanwhile, the bristling beats on the volatile, sensual "Enjoy" and the fragile, weightless ballad "Possibly Maybe" nod to trip-hop without being overwhelmed by it. As on Debut, Bjork finds new ways of expressing timeworn emotions like love, lust, and yearning in abstractly precise lyrics like "Since you went away/I'm wearing lipstick again/I suck my tongue in remembrance of you," from "Possibly Maybe." But Post's emotional peaks and valleys are more extreme than Debut's. "I Miss You"'s exuberance is so animated, it makes perfect sense that Ren & Stimpy's John Kricfalusi directed the song's video.

Likewise, "It's Oh So Quiet" -- which eventually led to Bjork's award-winning turn as Selma in Dancer in the Dark -- is so cartoonishly vibrant, it could have been arranged by Warner Bros. musical director Carl Stalling. Yet Bjork sounds equally comfortable with an understated string section on "You've Been Flirting Again." "Headphones" ends the album on an experimental, hypnotic note, layering Bjork's vocals over and over till they circle each other atop a bubbling, minimal beat. The work of a constantly changing artist, Post proves that as Bjork moves toward more ambitious, complex music, she always surpasses herself.

1. Army Of Me

2. Hyperballad

3. Modern Things

4. It's Oh So Quiet

5. Enjoy

6. You've Been Flirting Again

7. Isobel

8. Possibly Maybe

9. I Miss You

10. Cover Me

11. Headphones

Customers who bought this product also bought

12" LP HDPE White Inner Sleeve Anti-Static Polylined 90Gsm ( Cut Corner )
£0.18 *
* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: ELECTRONICA