Randy Weston - Little Niles - 180g LP

Product no.: UAL4011

In stock

Randy Weston - Little Niles - 180g LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

United Artists  /  Pure Pleasure - UAL4011  - 180 gram Virgin Vinyl 

Limited Edition - Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering - 

Mastered by Sean Magee at Abbey Road  - Pressed  at Pallas Germany

Randy Weston, one of the world’s foremost pianists and composers, a true innovator and visionary. Starting with the gospel of bop according to Thelonious Monk, Weston gradually absorbed the letter and spirit of African and Caribbean rhythms and tunes, welding everything together into a searching, energizing, often celebratory blend. His piano work ranges across a profusion of styles from boogie-woogie through bop into dissonance, marked by a stabbing quality reminiscent of, but not totally indebted to Monk.

Combining the Ellingtonish arrangements of Melba Liston with the rhythmically intriguing explorations of Randy Weston this album represented a high point in his career at the time. All the tunes, written by Randy Weston, were inspired by his children Niles and Pamela. The innocence, excitement, anticipation and tension of childhood are all displayed here in these warm vinyl grooves.

Like his early mentor Thelonious Monk, Randy Weston’s piano style is both original and steeped in jazz history. He drew upon the rhythmic drive of the Harlem masters, the rich chords and wide voicings of Ellington and the spare, jabbing right hand of Count Basie. To this mix, he would later incorporate melodic and rhythmic forms from all over Africa. And from the outset, he was a gifted composer with an early penchant for ¾ time; many of his tunes would become jazz standards eclipsing their creator in popularity. 


  • Randy Weston (piano)
  • Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone)
  • Ray Copeland, Idrees Sulieman (trumpet)
  • Melba Liston (arranger, trombone)
  • George Joyner (bass)
  • Charlie Persip ( drums)

Recording: October 1958 at RCA Studios, NYC

Track Listing:
1. Earth Birth 
2. Little Susan 
3. Nice Ice 
4. Little Niles 
5. Pams Waltz 
6. Babes Blues 
7. Lets Climb a Hill






Browse this category: JAZZ