Mark Knopfler - Down The Road Wherever - 2LP

Mark Knopfler - Down The Road Wherever - 2LP

Product no.: V3214

In stock

Mark Knopfler - Down The Road Wherever - 2LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, Airmail Standard, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

The Absolute Sound Super Disc List    TAS Harry Pearson Super LP List

"TAS Rated 5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics 

..."Down the Road Wherever" is the apex intersection of the Scottish-bred artist's ambition and craft, deftly entwining his mastery of locational songwriting flavored with Nashvillian strum and twang. "Back On the Dance Floor" entangles his patented gnarly guitar tone with a sensual background-vocal kiss during the choruses, courtesy of Irish enchantress Imelda May. "Just a Boy Away From Home" weaves subtle, back-in-the-mix keyboard fills from longtime collaborator Guy Fletcher, smooth brush drums, and melody-caressing horns alongside an acknowledged vocal an soloing shout out to Rodgers and Hammerstein's "You'll Never Walk Alone"... Wherever Knopfler's muse continues to roam, our ears must surely follow." - Mike Mettler, The Absolute Sound, January 2019 

Mark Knopfler announced that his ninth solo album, Down the Road Wherever  The 14-track follow-up to 2015’s Tracker .
A press release calls the record a collection of “unhurriedly elegant new Knopfler songs inspired by a wide range of subjects, including his early days in Deptford with Dire Straits, a stray football fan lost in a strange town, the compulsion of a musician hitching home through the snow, and a man out of time in his local greasy spoon.”

Knopfler explains, “‘Down The Road Wherever’ is a line from ‘One Song At A Time.’ I remember my pal Chet Atkins once saying that he picked his way out of poverty ‘one song at a time,’ and it just stuck in my mind. You get to an age where you’ve written quite a few songs. But Down The Road Wherever seems to be appropriate for me just because it’s what I’ve always done. I’ve always tried to make a record and also to keep my own geography happening in the songs.”


1. Trapper Man
2. Back On The Dance Floor
3. Nobody’s Child

4. Nobody Does That
5. Good On You Son
6. Floating Away

7. One Song At A Time
8. Heavy Up
9. Slow Learner

10. Just A Boy Away From Home
11. My Bacon Roll
12. When You Leave
13. Matchstick Man

Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: ROCK & POPULAR, Home page