Sonny Boy Williamson - Keep It To Ourselves - 45rpm 200g 2LP

Product no.: AAPB 036-45

In stock

Sonny Boy Williamson - Keep It To Ourselves - 45rpm 200g 2LP
Price includes VAT, plus delivery

Available delivery methods: UK Tracked with Signature, UK Express, Airmail Tracked with Signature, UK Standard, Heavy Item

AAA 100% Analogue This LP was Remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head

Analogue Productions - AAPB 036-45 - 200 Gram Virgin Vinyl 

AAA 100% Analogue - Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio 

Limited Edition - Pressed at QRP Quality Record Pressings  

AAA 100% Analogue This LP was Remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only, from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head

The Absolute Sound Super Disc List  TAS Harry Pearson Super LP List

Original LP listed on Stereophile's Record To Die For list.

No mincing words: this is one of the best-sounding blues LPs ever. Recorded in Denmark for Storyville in 1963, it dates from the period when harmonica deity Williamson toured and released albums with British blues bands, The Yardbirds and The Animals. Here he's backed by bluesmen Memphis Slim, Billie Stepney and the great Matt 'Guitar' Murphy, who passed away in June and who is remembered for playing with The Blues Brothers. Via 45rpm double LP, the sound is vivid and natural, the small group nestling in an atmospheric setting, playing loose and easy. A superb cover of Elmore James' 'The Sky Is Crying', familiar to Hendrix fans, opens the set. Magnificent. - HIFI NEWS

Now with Analogue Production's 45 RPM release, the best-sounding version of this historic album gives listeners an even richer sonic experience. The dead-quiet double-LP, with the music spread over four sides of vinyl, reduces distortion and high frequency loss as the wider-spaced grooves let your stereo cartridge track more accurately.

One of the greatest bluesmen ever. His harp, vocals, and songwriting have never been surpassed. All his records are classics, but this one is truly unique - it's the cream of two rare, acoustic albums cut in Denmark in 1963. Gentle, personal blues with brilliant harmonica, accompanied by only Matt 'Guitar' Murphy and Memphis Slim on piano.

When 'Willie' Rice Miller, aka Sonny Boy Williamson, made these intimate, casual recordings in 1963, he was already (probably) 66 years old. Most of his long career was over; only two years later he would die in his little apartment in Helena, Arkansas. He was recognized as a giant throughout the blues world as a harmonica player, vocalist, songwriter, prolific recording artist, live performer and wildly colorful personality.

"Starting in 1951 and continuing into the '60s, Sonny Boy made some of the most influential blues records of all time; Help Me,, Nine Below Zero, Mighty Long Time, One Way Out, Don't Start Me Talking, Keep It To Yourself, Bring It On Home, and dozens more."But he had never recorded before like he did on this one night in Copenhagen: in a totally acoustic setting, sometimes with just his voice and harmonica, sometimes with only Matt "Guitar" Murphy backing him, sometimes joined by his old friend Memphis Slim on piano. Drums appear on only one song. These recordings capture a personal, improvisational side of Sonny Boy's music that has been rarely heard on record." - Alligator Records liner notes

"Miller's music was as entertaining and fun as any that emanated from Chicago during the city's blues heyday. His canon is among the most consistently high-quality of any bluesman's, and this recording is an important addition to his legacy. It's an exquisitely crafted, often hilarious peek into a side he seldom revealed. And between the astonishing demonstrations of harmonica virtuosity and the mind-boggling lyrical convolutions, the genius of Rice Miller soars at unfettered full throttle." - David Whitens, Chicago Reader 

- 200g vinyl LP from Analogue Productions
- Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearant Audio
- Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
- Deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket

- Sonny Boy Williamson (vocals, harmonica)
- Matt Murphy (guitar)
- Memphis Slim (piano)
- Billie Stepney (drums)

Sonny Boy Williamson Keep It To Ourselves 

1.  The Sky Is Crying  
2.  Don't Let Your Right Hand Know  
3.  Coming Home To You Baby  
4.  The Story of Sonny Boy Williamson  
5.  Gettin' Together  
6.  Little Girl  
7.  I Can't Understand  
8.  Slowly Walk Close To Me  
9.  I Wonder Do I Have A Friend

Sonny Boy Williamson - Keep It To Ourselves - 200g LP

We use the Original Tapes and work with only the Best Mastering Studios
Plated and Pressed at QRP the world`s Best Pressing Plant on Virgin Vinyl
Meticulous Test Pressing evaluation and Quality Control
Highest Quality Jackets and Rice Paper Inner Sleeves
Less than 1,000 Records per Stamper
Released in Limited Quantities


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: BLUES SOUL R&B, Home page